(Though it originally used to be called Jakar Yugyal Dzong, over time, it has come to be known as Jakar Dzong, which translates as ‘White Bird Dzong,’ and owes its origins to the legend of how a white bird dramatically perched on that very spot where the Dzong was built and how it came to be interpreted as a good omen. Built in 1667, the Dzong was the foremost seat of Yongzin Ngagi Wangchuk, great-grandfather to the Zhabdrung. There was only a small temple in the shape of a Dzong during his time but it was later renovated and expanded by different personalities. The Dzong played an important role as a defensive stronghold for the entire eastern region, which is why its official name was Yuelay Namgyal Dzong, in honor of Bhutanese victory over the Tibetans .
An unusual feature here is that the ‘Utse’ or the Cupola is situated on an outside wall instead of the Central Tower, so there is no way to circumambulate it unless one opts to walk around the entire Dzong. Another unique feature of the Dzong is a sheltered passage, with two parallel walls, interconnected by fortified towers, which gave the inhabitants of the fortress access to water in the case of a siege. The protected water supply remains intact to this day.)